City Hall
2201 University Blvd
P.O. Box 2089
Tuscaloosa, AL 35401

(205) 248-5311
(205) 349-0185

Email Webmaster

City Elections


The City Clerk is the local elections administrator, and coordinates with the County of Tuscaloosa and the City's election consultant in the organization and conduct of Municipal Elections.

This includes, but is not limited to:

  • Preparation of necessary resolutions calling General or Special Municipal Elections
  • The coordination of the candidate qualifying process, ballot preparation
  • Recruitment and training of election workers
  • Canvassing and certification of election results

The City of Tuscaloosa is a "Mayor-Council" form of government. The Mayor and seven Council Members are elected every 4 years. The City is divided in to seven districts, with a Council Member elected from each district, and the Mayor elected from the City at large.


The next general election for the City of Tuscaloosa Mayor, City Council and the Tuscaloosa City Board of Education will be held, Tuesday, March 7, 2017.


Important Information concerning the Tuscaloosa Municipal Elections:

Qualification Dates for Spring Municipal Elections (Mayor, City Council, and City Board of Education): January 10-24, 2017

Alabama Ethics Commission

Alabama Secretary of State Candidate Resources

Alabama Voter Complaint Form

Campaign/Election Sign Regulations

GIS District Map