View Notification
No notifications.

Council Committees

Role of Council Committees

The City Council committees are structured for the purpose of expediting the policy-making and legislative functions of the Council. They are organized to more equally distribute the responsibilities and work load among all seven Council members. This affords an opportunity for a greater degree of specialization into each area of responsibility assigned to each councilor.

Although the Council is strictly the legislative and policy-making body of the City government, these policy-making responsibilities should parallel the administrative needs of the City as closely as possible. Legislative decisions are often made on the basis of administrative knowledge and background. The scope of municipal policy is so broad that administrative organization offers a logical guide for legislative and policy considerations.

The Council, due to its power of inquiry and investigation, cannot escape some involvement in administrative and executive matters, just as the Mayor, due to his leadership and position, is an inevitable participant in policy decisions. Yet, the primary function of the Council is guiding municipal policy, and the work of committees is basically oriented toward this objective by facilitating decisions more efficiently through policy-area specialization.

The committee organization attempts to divide and group the main Council responsibilities into the most logical and equal combinations as possible. While the organization and title of each committee parallels administrative needs, there is absolutely no intent to imply that these committees are charged with administrative authority.

The following committees are hereby established by the Tuscaloosa City Council:



Tuesday - Weekly - 1:30 p.m.
Daugherty Room

Kip Tyner,
President Pro Tem
District 1 Councilmember Wilson
District 2 Councilmember Howard-Williams
District 3 Councilmember Crow
District 4 Councilmember Busby
District 5 Councilmember Tyner
District 6 Councilmember Faile
District 7 Councilmember Lanier
City Council 
Tuesday - Weekly - 6:00 p.m.
Council Chambers
Tuesday - Weekly - 2:30 p.m.
Norman CrowMatthew WilsonLee BusbyCassius Lanier
1st and 3rd Tuesday - 4:00 p.m.
John FaileCassius LanierKip TynerRaevan Howard
1st Tuesday - 5:00 p.m.
Matthew WilsonRaevan HowardNorman CrowKip Tyner
Tuesday - Weekly - 3:15 p.m.
Lee BusbyNorman CrowMatthew WilsonJohn Faile
2nd and 4th Tuesday - 4:00 p.m.
Raevan HowardJohn FaileCassius LanierLee Busby
3rd Tuesday - 5:00 p.m.
Cassius LanierKip TynerRaevan HowardMathew Wilson
5th Tuesday - 4:00 p.m.
Kip TynerLee Busby John FaileNorman Crow

All meetings are held in the Daugherty Conference Room in Tuscaloosa City Hall unless otherwise noted. 

These meetings are noticed in accordance with the Alabama Open Meetings Law, Act 2005-40

(Ala. Code Sec. 36-25A-1).

Revised 05-18-2017